EDEPS header

Library Science Teachers, Postsecondary

Certification Description
The requirements for National Board Certification in the field of Library Media are organized into the following 10 standards: Knowledge of Learners; Knowledge of Teaching and Learning; Knowledge of Library and Information Studies; Integrating Instruction; Leading Innovation through the Library Media Program; Administering the Library Media Program; Reflective Practice; Professional Growth; Ethics, Equity, and Diversity; and Leadership, Advocacy, and Community Partnerships. They standards have been ordered to facilitate understanding, not to assign priorities. Each standard describes an important facet of the art and science of teaching; they often occur concurrently because of the seamless quality of accomplished practice.

Certifying Organization
National Board for Professional Teaching Standards

Certification Details
● Oral or Written Exam Required? Yes

National Board Certification - Early Childhood through Young Adulthood/Library Media Website

Source: CareerOneStop, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor (USDOL).